BCoE recognizes graduate student research

March 26, 2014


From L-R: Interim dean Jason Keith, grand prize winner Maurin Lopez Varilla, and associate dean for research and graduate studies Masoud Rais-Rohani

STARKVILLE, Miss. — The Bagley College of Engineering recognized 23 students’ research at the spring Graduate Research Poster Competition awards ceremony Wednesday.

The newly established competition took place March 24 and 25 in the Mitchell Memorial Library Grisham Room. Seven master’s and 49 doctoral students participated in the program.

Maurin Lopez Varilla, a doctoral student in computational engineering, took home the $1,000 grand prize for the best overall poster in the competition.

“I have always found poster presentations to be the most challenging format because you only have a short period of time to engage visitors,” said interim dean Jason Keith. “You have to really be on top of your game because you never know when someone is going to ask a question about your work. I am proud of the preparation our students have put into this competition.”

Participants could place in one of three award categories to earn a certificate and a cash reward. Superior Award winners received $500 while Distinguished and Meritorious Award winners earned $300 and $200, respectively.

Faculty volunteers served as the judges for the competition. Each poster was judged for scope and depth of research, design and content, and presentation.

Those recognized include (all are doctoral students unless otherwise noted):

GRAND PRIZE — Maurin Lopez Varilla, computational engineering

SUPERIOR — Mahmood Mamivand, mechanical engineering; Sourav Patnaik, biomedical engineering; and Maurin Lopez Varilla, computational engineering

DISTINGUISHED — Osama Abuomar, electrical and computer engineering; Kevin Bennett, biomedical engineering; Joe Crumpton, computer science; Anuhya Gottipati, biomedical engineering; Kyle Johnson, mechanical engineering; Shahriar Shahrokhabadi, civil engineering; Masood Shahverdi, electrical and computer engineering; Jutima Simsiriwong, aerospace engineering; and Anadavalli Varadarajan, a master’s student in chemical engineering

MERITORIOUS — Tamer Aldwairi, computational engineering; Marta AmirSadeghi, chemical engineering; Robbin Bertucci, biomedical engineering; Bryn Brazile, biomedical engineering; Amin Kargarian, electrical and computer engineering; Bahareh Kokabian, civil engineering; Yongwu Lu, biological engineering; Chiranjeevi Madvesh, a master’s student in electrical and computer engineering; Anas Mahmood,computer science; Md Mahmudur Rahman, industrial and systems engineering; and Wei Wu, applied physics

For more information about the Bagley College of Engineering, visit www.bagley.msstate.edu.

Photos from the competition can be found at www.flickr.com/photos/msuengineering.

By: Emily McConnell