Six Bagley faculty members to hold ASEE leadership positions

May 12, 2017

Six members of the Bagley College of Engineering faculty were recently appointed to leadership positions within the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE)’s Southeastern Section.

The elected MSU faculty represent four different Bagley departments and will serve during the 2017-2018 term.

The ASEE Southeastern Section’s Executive Board includes John Brocato as the Immediate Past Section President. In addition to being the ASEE National Campus Representative, Brocato teaches technical writing for the Bagley College and established MSU’s Shackouls Technical Writing Program.

Alta Knizley, a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, will serve as the secretary of the Publications and Promotions Unit, one of three units in the ASEE Southeastern Section.

Holding the vice chair of the Professional Skills Division is Kelly Agee, a technical writing instructor for Bagley and the Shackouls Technical Writing Program. In addition to serving on the executive board, Brocato will also fulfill the role of secretary for the Professional Skills Division.

Donna Reese, a professor and head of Bagley’s Department of Computer Science and Engineering, will serve as the chair of the Software Engineering Division.

Bagley’s Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and a professor of biomedical engineering, James Warnock, will hold the chair of the Bioengineering Division, while computer science and engineering professor Byron Williams will fulfill the role of secretary.

In a field of ever-changing technology, the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) is a nonprofit organization consisting of individuals and institutions that encourage education efforts in engineering and engineering technology. The national organization is made up of sections organized by region, allowing members to further personal development through local and regional meetings and workshops.

MSU faculty belong to ASEE’s Southeastern Section, which was formed in 1934 and includes engineering education professionals from Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida and Puerto Rico.

For more information on the organization, visit

The Bagley College of Engineering is online at Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram by searching for @msuengineering.

By: Amanda Meeler