Letter from the Dean: December 2023

December 1, 2023

Dear Faculty, Staff, Students and Friends of the Bagley College of Engineering:

As we prepare for this week’s commencement ceremonies, I reflect on a truly outstanding semester at Mississippi State University. I continue to be amazed by the work being done by our students, alumni, staff and faculty. Here are a few of our most recent accomplishments:

  • The latest batch of Presidential Scholars have been selected, including ten from the Bagley College! These students, sorted by major, are:
    • Aerospace Engineering: Madelyn Berry, Abigail Spreen and Evan Garrison
    • Biomedical Engineering: Payton Kelly-Van Domelen
    • Chemical Engineering: Ella Atkins and Charles Nicholas
    • Electrical Engineering: Carter Holton, Kelsey Anne Dembo and Stephen Weathersby
    • Mechanical Engineering: Chauncy Jordan
  • Graduating seniors, please remember to complete the First Destination Survey through the MSU Career Center. This survey information is helpful in tracking career outcomes. Engineering students tend to have a very high placement rate, which is an important metric for us as a land grant university.
  • Dr. Jennifer Sloan Ziegler, a civil engineering alum, has been awarded the 2023 Edmund Friedman Young Engineer Award for Professional Achievement by the American Society of Civil Engineers.
  • Frank Gallaher, an electrical engineering alum, has been inducted into the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Wall of Fame.
  • Dr. M. Wade Shrader, an aerospace engineering alum, was elected President of The American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine.

Thank you for your hard work and dedication to the Bagley College of Engineering at Mississippi State University. If you haven’t visited the college’s website yet, please check it out at bagley.msstate.edu. You can also follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.

Finally, if you have any ideas for stories, please let me know at keith@bagley.msstate.edu.

Thank you for all you do, and Hail State!


Jason M. Keith

Dean and Professor

Earnest W. and Mary Ann Deavenport, Jr. Chair