Seven students elected to the Bagley College of Engineering Student Hall of Fame

March 27, 2019

The Bagley College of Engineering at Mississippi State University has added its newest class of honorees to its Student Hall of Fame, as seven outstanding students have been recognized by the college.

“These outstanding students are the leaders of tomorrow,” said Jason Keith, dean of the Bagley College of Engineering. “These students exemplify academic excellence, extra-curricular achievement and selfless service, both on and off campus. And without a doubt, with continued hard work, they have bright futures ahead of them.”

Seven students were elected to the Bagley College of Engineering Student Hall of Fame

The 2019 Student Hall of Fame inductees (from left): Phong Ly, Sydney Reed, Emily McCabe, Morgan Green, Penelope Dao, Martin McCandless, Meenakshi Das

The 2019 members of Bagley College’s Student Hall of Fame are:

Penelope Dao

Penelope Dao is a senior majoring in mechanical engineering. She has served as president of both Tau Beta Pi and the Society of Women Engineers.

Meenakshi Das

Meenakshi Das is a senior computer science major. She is a Google Lime Scholar and is the founder and president of the Mississippi State DisAbility Group.

Morgan Green

Morgan Green is a graduate student in mechanical engineering. She is the director and creator of Project Enspire and is a member of the mechanical engineering ladies organization.

Phong Ly

Phong Ly is a senior majoring in civil engineering. He was one of just 10 students nationwide that was selected as one of the New Faces of Civil Engineering by the American Society of Civil Engineering. He is also the recipient of the prestigious Astronaut Scholarship.

Emily McCabe

Emily McCabe is a senior majoring in biological engineering. She is a Presidential Scholar and member of the Dean’s List and served as president of Gamma Beta Phi honor society.

Martin McCandless

Martin McCandless is a senior majoring in aerospace engineering. He was the recipient of the Harry Charles Simrall Award for Engineering Excellence and served as the lead pilot for MSU’s Xipiter Unmanned Aerial Systems team.

Sydney Reed

Sydney Reed is a senior majoring in biomedical engineering. She is a Presidential Scholar and received the Bagley undergraduate research program scholarship in 2017.

The Bagley College Student Hall of Fame was established in 2007 to highlight students who display high academic achievement and exemplary leadership skills while engaging in internships, volunteer work and student activities. Students are nominated by faculty, staff, or student organizations.

The Bagley College of Engineering is online at and can be found on FacebookTwitter, Instagram and YouTube at @msuengineering.

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at

By Philip Allison